241

Plants that flower through the winter remind me of a famous Albert Camus saying ‘In the depths of winter inside me I found an invincible summer’

For me the garden plays out life in various ways and a lot of helpful metaphors can be drawn from managing/working in a garden. Weeding the garden can be seen as getting rid of the elements in your life/self that are destructive. Pruning can be downsizing, getting rid of unwanted people, things etc etc

My favorite Auntie who married a Bishop reckons she focuses on the battle of good against evil when weeding and dealing with slugs! it works in lots of ways.

I am always afraid I will talk to total nonsense when veering from straight horticulture but I think what I am trying to say in this blog is that there is more for me and a lot of others in gardening than just growing plants.

Leave a Reply

